Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Yoga Bear

Today was a much needed lazy day. I would say that I truly experienced a perfect day in India. Getting to sleep in and start the morning with a hot mini mug of chai and a honey baked cookie just cannot be topped. My nose was then glued the novel The Namesake, which was interrupted only twice for class. The picture is of one of the hundreds of water buffalo that wander around campus daily. Their eating of grass is only interrupted by the passing autos and motorcycles who zoom by their horns much too quickly.

I then was able to participate in my first Indian yoga class in the early evening. The Yoga Centre is a ten minute bike ride away so I was already thick with sweat when I arrived, late. A spot in the back and a few moves later, I was much of the way through the foreign class. We ended with prasana breathing, something I am familiar with, yet with the new nose piercing I failed miserably due to tenderness.

Dinner was “Mediterranean Night” so I filled my plate with hummus, falafel, and standard Indian rice until I was too stuffed for a cup of chai. To work off dinner I moseyed around the mall and found a few new kurtas for the warming of the weather (thanks dad).

I have a lot of class tomorrow, but I will hopefully end the day with yoga or another run to clear my head.

 

DSCN0208

One comment on “Yoga Bear

  1. Soph
    January 15, 2013

    more yoga! more yoga!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 9, 2013 by .
