Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Bollywood Status

IMG_5113

 

The long weekend has begun. Thursday night was laid back, just what I needed after my first week experiencing Indian classes. In the evening we had an Indian culture presentation on music, dance, and henna. I of course opted for the henna presentation and now have my right hand died with dark leathery paint. I look forward to taking a henna elective this semester to improve my doodling skills post India.

As Friday is a holy day most people do not have classes, which is amazing to say the least. Keddy and I started the day pampering ourselves at Mirrors salon. I now have perfect Indian hair that will stand the heat, smog, and sun damage: score. The hair dresser was appalled at my dry frizz ball of a top knot bun upon my arrival and whisked me away to get my hair Indian ready. I emerged after an intense scalp massage and inches removed with soft Indian oiled hair.

The rest of the day was spent wandering around Jubilee Hills in and out of shops and restaurants. We stopped at a temple and did all the obligatory respectful things we had learned–remove our shoes, wash our feet, and circle the temple three times. Upon entry we were greeted by pastel hues and brass gates leading to the inner sanctum. The best part of this temple were the kids balancing coins at the base of brass sculpture that reminded me of a chandelier. Keddy and I asked what this meant and we were told if the coin balances then your wish for the future will come true. After spending some time attempting to balance our rupee coins, we were both successful and congratulated by the small crowd who had gathered to observe our efforts.

We are now back in time for dinner and relaxation with a night out ahead of us!

One comment on “Bollywood Status

  1. Deborah floyd
    January 11, 2013

    Wonderful description–I almost feel like I am there, but without the “Indian hair” treatment.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 11, 2013 by .
