Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Adventure Land

Hampi did not tend to agree with my stomach. One morning I ended up staying back while the group went out to explore. After lying by the rice fields, reading, sipping fresh ginger, honey tea–I was ready for the day. Just a little late. I ended up renting a motor bike and purchasing three litres of petrol for the afternoon. After almost crashing, I was ready for the open road.

IMG_5393

 

My love of selfies hasn’t seem to diminish over here.

I sped on dirt roads as I raced no one across rice paddies. To circle the island was about 40 kilometers (dont ask me the conversion to miles, because I frankly have no clue). I went in every which direction. Exploring abandoned roads to come across beautiful waterfalls and ancient towns. I was alone under the sun, crisping my exposed shoulders.

IMG_5451

I endeed up finding a temple that was located on top of a mountain of precariously perched rock formations. After about a 40 minute hike, I reached the top. Where I removed my shoes and wandered around the monkey inhabited rocks. I entered the temple to preform Pooja to the unknown Hindu God.

To say the least, it was a successful day. My friends returned worn and exhausted, while I was refreshed from my exhilarating “Emma Time” as my mom has come to call my need for space.

One comment on “Adventure Land

  1. Deborah Floyd
    February 8, 2013

    While the mother in me is horrified that you took off by yourself on a motorbike, the mother in me is utterly impressed and proud.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2013 by .
