Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Stacked Crooked

IMG_5450

Amidst the culture, I found some beautiful places to spend my time while in Hampi. Although since this trip, I have been slightly down on my luck and questioning my place here in India, I think my time in Hampi was well spent

IMG_5449My baby stack.

On a mountain top, there was a temple off to the side that looked unloved and unappreciated. I had no better way to spend my time, so I wandered over to see the view. I stood staring out at the luscious landscape in the midst of stacked rock piles ranging from tiny pebbles to boulders. I must have looked puzzled, so a stranger explained the theory behind the rock stacks. SImilar to when I balanced a coin–these stacks were dedicated to your loved ones. You were to stack them, while thinking about those individuals that you care about. I was told to interpret this anyway I chose–when my stack of baby rocks balanced, I took it as a good sign.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 7, 2013 by .
