Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Correction: Football Anyone?

The other members of the soccer team with me!

The other SIP members of the soccer team with me!

As a student of anthropology (kind of), I chose to take a philosophy class entitled “Changing Indian Families”. The introductory units are basic definitions and ideas that any high school educated American should know. We had our first quiz yesterday, which out of 300 concepts was to memorize the EXACT definition for a selected 25 words (some of which were incest and monogamy if you didn’t grasp the beginner level I first implied). After wasting far too much time studying, I completed my test in four minutes and left the classroom. A girl came running after me calling my name* much to my surprise as I am rarely regarded vocally in this building. Rather much more used to getting odd stares.

She asked if I knew any SIP girls who wanted to play football. I made a joke, replying “dis SIP** gal wants to play football.” She did not understand, so I said “yes, me.” Not as fun. Practice is from 6 to 7:30 until Sunday when we have a tournament. I have new nike kickz (Dickinson colors) and I am ready to go.  I recruited two other lady playazz and we are ready to take women’s soccer by storm. Check ESPNindia for updates!

*: They all call me “Emma Emma” as I am the only non Indian student and thats the loving moniker the professor has bestowed upon me?

**: SIP is the acronym for international students, directly it is “Study (in) India Program”. It should be SIIP, which would be way more entertaining to pronounce on a daily basis. But no. SIP 4 LYFE?

One comment on “Correction: Football Anyone?

  1. alanwein45
    February 17, 2013

    You guys have the most interesting friends!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2013 by .
