Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Kick Ass Zen

Sunset at Golconda, Sunrise at HCU.

Sunset at Golconda, Sunrise at HCU.

Per usual, when I plan to get up early I have trouble sleeping. No matter how many melatonin (natural sleep aid, not drugs) I pop, the anxiety of sleeping through my alarm or not getting enough sleep period keeps me up. I finally dozed of around midnight with my alarm set for 5:30 sharp, leaving just enough time to brush my teeth, put on sneaks, and bike to the field in the dark of dawn.

I rally my troops and we head out across campus to our respective activities. As we ride, we wonder out loud how we will start practice in the dark and what exactly girls soccer practice in India means. Will there be drills, more than one ball? Will we have to run? Upon arriving, we see that maybe women’s soccer in India maybe doesn’t even exist. Period. The empty, dark field lies before us as we rub our sleepy eyes and check our watches–still set to American time not Indian time. Meaning we are on time and who knows how late the Indians will be–anywhere from an hour to three.

Luckily for us, the yoga center is next door and stumble into the 6 am class right on time, which starts promptly (unlike soccer I guess).

I found it hard to concentrate as I was mentally prepared to get sweaty and kick some grASS. Yet here I was meditating and stretching as the sun rose. Awhile back, I blogged about the profound feeling of entering yoga and having the sun set while you were inside. As this was my first time actually making it to morning yoga, I have to say the opposite is far more amazing.

Entering at what feels like the middle of the night, the sun rises around you. You focus your thoughts and bend your body, removing toxins you did not know existed, as the light of day touches the world around you. It really is beautiful, as cheesy as it sounds.

Maybe they should start doing before the dawn film screenings at movie theaters for the same effect. I doubt America is ready for that. I still prefer the newspaper and coffee from the comforts of home. If I am going to be up that early.

One comment on “Kick Ass Zen

  1. Deborah Floyd
    February 13, 2013

    You “almost” make me want to get up earlier! I love the picture–truly reflective of your lovely words!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2013 by .
