Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Choti Roti

Mint rice and potato gravy from Friday's cooking class!

FIll those plates!

This translates to small roti. A roti is a thinner, naan like, bread. We have piles of them at every meal and over the last two months we have learned the correct way to rip, scoop, and stuff them. For example, Indians will laugh at you if you mix rice and bread. They see it as an either or, where I think the more carbs the merrier.

Tonight at dinner, Brooke introduced us to a beautiful combination she created over dinner. Think fried bread, greek yogurt, and honey. It tasted like a Mexican sopapilla and I instantly had flashbacks to celebrating my birthday at El Racho Grande. Virgin Margarita please?

I worked up quite the appetite at soccer “practice.” Allowing myself to indulge well after the kitchen was meant to close. I usually give Keddy the title of “Roti Queen.” But I think tonight I stole the crown.

On the topic of food–ice cream is served daily after dinner. This is not just ice cream, this is ice CREAM. Full fat milk and sugar churned into creamy goodness. Low fat is not even a concept here, yet. Chocolate, Mango, and Vanilla fill our bowls nightly. Butterscotch is the best, yet it only surfaced once a month. Keddy and I brought our confusion to our host dad and BFF, Mr Das. Lucky for all of Tagore, butterscotch is now a weekly¬†occurrence. You are all welcome! Xo, your american fatty friends! or gossip girl….were not sure which title we prefer yet. We do a lot of both?

I guess I should take a break from my foodgasm to talk about soccer practice this evening. I “accidentally” slept through morning practice and went this afternoon instead. I have never felt so talented in my life. I knew girl’s sports in India were not as popular, but I didnt know I was going to take on the role of coach. I ran drills until sundown when the other girls went to watch a match, something they obviously needed to do. Overall an enjoyable experience and I look forward to my first match tomorrow. I am not even sure you can call it a match with ten minute halves, but hey not complaining. My roti baby can thank me later.

One comment on “Choti Roti

  1. Deborah Floyd
    February 19, 2013

    I want a picture of your soccer team!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 19, 2013 by .
