Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Bending It Like Beckham

NOTE: I AM SAFE. After the bombings I went out to pizza and ice cream with friends. Although it was close to where I live, I am safe and security measures will continue to keep me out of harms way. I cancelled my day of work for VOICE tomorrow and am staying out of the city center. A little scare, but nothing we cannot handle.

Playing under the lights for the first time in a loooong time.

Playing under the lights for the first time in a loooong time.

Now on to bigger and better things..SOCCER! I played in the women’s tournament on Wednesday night. After a week of early mornings running drills and nights of dream montages where we miraculously turned into a functional team, it was game day. And we were not ready. All the other teams had jerseys, we were an array of red shades and dress sneakers taking the field.

Although we came out on the losing end of 1-0, it was the best 30 minutes. I have never been prouder of a group of girls in my life. Although the winning montage of my dreams didnt occur  we gave the team a run for their money–no doubt.

I then pulled what I am going to call a “bend it like bekham” and ran directly from the field to the cab to take me to Kibbeh to meet the staff of where I am working. They are a young staff and we were meeting for ladies night! WOO I changed in a bathroom. I went from a dusty, bloodied nose mess to a semi presentable lady ready to go out on the town. Sort of. It was great getting to know everyone I would be working with in a relaxed setting and I was still home by midnight to get some rest!

One comment on “Bending It Like Beckham

  1. Deborah Floyd
    February 22, 2013

    Glad you are safe! Ironically, you are once again playing for (with) “the Indians!”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by .
