Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Refresh Your Aura

IMG_5669

I came to India for something different. I get asked “why India” almost every single day. Indians want to go to America–they yell OBAMA in the markets. They cannot fathom why I would leave my “perfect” country to venture into the beautiful chaos that is India. My answer? I wanted a change in scenery, but more importantly a change within myself. Wow, I just got really deep. I promise I am going somewhere with this. India is a place that changes the way you see the world around you. I want that to stick with me. After being here for two months, I know it will. I have refreshed my aura as the Hindus say. I have opened my eyes to the world around me and have chosen a new path of understanding.

Silvery Grey

Silvery Grey

I saw this same process occur tonight at a temple. Apparently deities need refreshing of their auras as well? I wish my refreshing process was as intricate, colorful  and beautiful. But after rethinking that statement–I guess it was. Statues of deities were hoisted round and round the temple as dancers pranced in front of them and instruments blared over the sounded of cheering and traffic. Kids ran in between my legs, pushing to the front of the show. Old women stood barefoot touching their hands to the cold silver then to their foreheads. It was truly beautiful. I have found the time to refresh in the beauty that is this chaotic experience.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by .
