Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Ode To Curd

IMG_5220

Yoghurt. Curd. Yogurt. Who knows? But this stuff is awesome. Upon arriving it was too sour. Too watery. Too yuck. Medicine for an upset stomach in India? Oh you know–curd and rice. Like a sour, watery rice pudding. No thank you. It took me about a week to change my mind about this stuff. Full fat, un-pasteurized curd goes with anything. I mean anything. I mix it in with all my curries. I eat it with fruit, even though the first bite is always so sour I make a face. I put it on dessert. Who would have known the grainy consistency would pair perfectly with basically everything.

Curd, I thank you for cutting indian spice (red chili or green) and jagari sweet (gulab jamoon to apricot preserve). For being available at every meal. On every street corner. Indians know what is UP with yogurt. America has just jumped on the yogurt train. Hello Chobani. But Indians are so advanced in their yogurt technique. This is not just a breakfast food anymore people.

One comment on “Ode To Curd

  1. Deborah Floyd
    February 23, 2013

    LOL! I misread your title and thought it said, “Ode to Crud!” I guess I was right: it started out like crud and now it is ode-worthy curd.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 23, 2013 by .
