Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Auto Al

20130316-100324.jpg

My life here has become routine. Autos are a normal occurrence with their open air, buzzing engines. I know I will have to bargain–sometimes giving in for a good driver or holding my ground when it comes to ridiculously priced rides.

I have forgotten how foreign of a concept to me this was on day 1 (and even day 20). To see someone experience the chaos of weaving through traffic for the first time on a glorified three wheeled motorcycle engine is truly entertaining. Even better, explaining how I am bargaining over dollars and cents for a better ride.

Something new to me is traveling with a man. Every time the drivers run up the my dad, asking “sir, auto?” Yet he has no idea what is going on let alone where we are. He kindly directs their attention to me, yet throughout the ride they still direct questions to him.

Another interesting thing is to see the faces of the hotel concierge when they ask if we need a hotel car to take us to our destination. We politely smile and head out the gate solo. Returning hours later alive and well traveled. Oh, the horrors of public transportation! It is true though, three months ago or if my dad were here solo–we would want that English-speaking, air conditioned, private cab. But not now. Now, we travel like locals–bargaining our way around the city. Taking in the sites, the color, the sounds, and smog.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 16, 2013 by .
