Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Saree Im Really Not…

Saree Selfies

Saree Selfies

Last night I channeled my inner princess Jasmine and stepped out wearing a saree. This monumental occasion brings new meaning to this blog. I borrowed a saree from my main home gal Madhuri, also known as my program director and BFF on the side. She supplied me with jewels and more as she handed me the most beautiful handcrafted saree. All the Tagore ladies gather for Bhavani and Madhuri to wrap us up in our colorful fabrics. We waiting while they wrapped, pinned, and draped us all into perfection.

Best dost looking FOINE

Best dost looking FOINE

Gals dressed up in traditional sarees, gents pulling out all the stops with the little dress-ware they brought from home–it must be the farewell dinner! How these last five months have passed so quickly, I will never know. I still have the flowers that were given to me at the welcome dinner in December. Dried and brown, they hang next to the crisp petals I wore to say goodbye to my fellow adventurous college students. We all had different journeys, but coming together as we have grown to love this country was truly amazing. The SIP cultural show is on Tuesday and I get to don my saree again there too, so pictures to come. Can you say outfit repeat?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 6, 2013 by .
