Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

The Great Oreo Shortage of Gopanpalli

These ladies love alley ways

These ladies love alley ways

Over the last few weeks, my main cookie shops have been slacking on the Oreo importing. Much to my dismay, it seems that all of South Gate is out of Oreos. For Rs. 25 (50 cents), I can indulge on a pack of ten perfect cookies and be instantly transported back to my kitchen, dorm, basically anywhere that is not a dusty, smelly alley in India. Not that I am complaining. I love that dusty, sweaty alley. I have made some great memories there. Practicing my Hindi with the town drunk, almost being trampled by a gang of piglets, or sitting back on a tombstone avoiding Ganesh’s judgemental stares, I have found solace in the simplicity of this side of Indian culture. Not to mention, right across the street I can get a giant bag of freshly stir fried street Lo Mein for the same price as they tube of Oreos. But without the frequent cookie indulgence, I have found myself missing out on this rural lifestyle. Who knew that my love of cookies and culture would so perfectly compliment one another in an Indian back alley?

NOTE: Sorry mom. It is not as sketchy as it sounds. Well actually maybe a little sketchier…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 10, 2013 by .
