Saree Not Saree: India 2013

It's funny how time and distance change you, the roads you take don't always lead you home.

Penultimate

Here we go...

Here we go…

It is hard to believe that tomorrow is my last full day in Hyderabad. I feel like I am saying goodbye to the city that has been my home for five months, far too soon. That is not to say I am not ready. I am. But there is so much I still want to do that it is hard to convince myself that I wont return.

After a final bout of food poisoning, it was on to a blood bath of a Hindi final. We changed the lyrics to Chiddy Bang’s song “Kids” to “tell Bhavani Im sorry, India is a party” to sum up our feeling towards our final. But seriously, sorry Bhavani!

IMG_6467

Then off to Hazzel to tackel THE HULK. 10 scoops of ice cream and toppings later and we were champions. Our sugar comas intact, we headed off to Shilparimum for last minute gifts. Which I was all too successful at–sorry dad!

Two of the Best

Two of the Best

To end a perfect penultimate day, Keddy and I were invited to dinner by our program directors, Madhuri and Kalyan. We laughed over kebabs and starters for two hours recalling the craziness of Indian, how far we have come, and our respective futures. It is a night I know I will remember for a long time. Two of the most fun loving, inspiring people, I have enjoyed every minute I spent with them. Kalyan solved every problem I had, whether it was due to ticket booking or Vodaphone craziness–he was THE leading expert. We lovingly referred to him as “Papa Duck” as he led us through FRRO registration like a BOSS. Madhuri was always down for a good sarcastic comment or a long hug when you really needed it. The queen of April Fools day, Maahhhdooooriii is one of the kindest women I have come to know (with two of the cutests nieces on this planet). I wouldn’t have gotten anywhere in India without the unique, loving friendships I formed with each of them. Their patience and care have been amazing these past five months. Thank you again to my unofficial Mom and Dad of HYD.

2 comments on “Penultimate

  1. Deborah Floyd
    April 22, 2013

    Penultimate — you must have had an excellent English teacher! I love you and can’t wait to have you HOME!

  2. alanwein45
    April 23, 2013

    Enough already. You have plenty of gifts and everyone will be just happy to see you!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2013 by .
